Withnell Fold Primary School

Skip to main content
10th August 20
Trail : home / Whole School - Curriculum

Withnell Fold School's Curriculum

Withnell Fold School  provides a broad and balanced curriculum for all of its pupils.  All of our work is based on the National Curriculum and is carefully planned to ensure there is continuity and progression for the children as they move through the school.

When they first start school,  children are in the Early Years Foundation Stage (the Foundation Stage Class).  The Early Years Curriculum is made up of three PRIME AREAS - communication and language, physical development and personal, social and emotional development.  These areas feed into 4 SPECIFIC AREAS - literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts & design.  The learning is planned to suit the child's unique needs.

Children in Class 1 ( Year 1 and Year 2  - infants) are working in Key Stage 1.  Children in  Classes 3 and 4 (Years 3 - 6  - juniors) are working in Key Stage 2. In both of these Key Stages, children are taught all of the subjects within the National Curriculum. Where we can, links in learning (cross curricular links) are made between the subjects under broad topic headings.  In addition to this, the school follows the Lancashire Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.  Each class page has an overview of the curriculum for the year and the pdf above shows the overview of the school year for 2014-15.

In accordance with the 1988 Education Act, Withnell Fold provides a daily act of worship.  This may be within class or in more formal assemblies.  

Please see below and individual class pages for specific and more detailed year group curriculum maps.